It was a full weekend; Tom & I left for Appleton around noon on Friday. It was raining, so we didn’t get to take Sophie to the dog park with Erika & Jackson, but we were able to perfect our “biker chic” costumes for the night’s party before heading up to dinner at the Mills for Mike Chen & Kelly’s birthday.

biker chic

Then on Saturday, I shot a wedding in Green Bay with Shawn Marie (no pictures from it yet; but here’s one from a wedding we shot together a few weeks ago)

heidi & craig

I really enjoy shooting b camera because it lets me play around a bit while Shawn Marie sets up & covers the more posed shots. So after the wedding on Saturday, Tom & I went to see The Hangover at Regal with Mike & Kelly & a few others. It was pretty ridiculous but the cast was great so we laughed. Then we drove back to Chicago at about midnight, got in around 3am on Sunday morning. We wanted to catch Bill Ayers & Bernadine Dohrn’s interview at the CSPAN Book TV live taping. The audience was limited to between 30 and 40 people, but we made it in time to secure a couple of seats. It was the best 3 hours of my adult life; Bernadine Dohrn is a serious role model for me. She’s such an inspiring woman, and I love her relationship with Bill. They were linked together when they were so young and have grown old together and pursued social activism together for decades. I love seeing couples fall in love while young and make it through life together… Couples who are passionate about something other than just each other. It’s like the relationship becomes secondary to social change. That’s really appealing to me. I know that we’re designed to be in close relationship with one another, but sometimes I feel that I’m more on the plane of “relationship as secondary,” you know what I mean? I guess it’s complicated to explain. Maybe it’s more that it’s easy to grow comfortable in a relationship and then hard to feel an urgency about social reform, etc. All I know for certain is that listening to Bill Ayers & Bernadine Dohrn made art seem so insignificant. And I loved it. Watch the interview.

So today I kept an eye on macrumors.com’s live blog of the WWDC keynote… pretty stoked about the software updates for the iPhone… and the new 3GS is pretty nuts! Price drop is great, hardware upgrades are great, etc. etc. Technology changes so quickly, huh?

Anyway I’m pretty beat today, gonna read & maybe play around with a tattoo idea that Tom has for his arm… Good, exhausting weekend. Can’t wait for Mike & Kelly to come around on Friday!

